Faculty Associated with Program

Core Area 1: Biological Sciences

Joseph Graves, Jr.

North Carolina A&T
Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering
gravejl@ncat.edu
Expertise: Evolutionary Biology
Personal Webpage

Scott Harrison

North Carolina A&T
Biology
scotth@ncat.edu
Expertise: Computational Biology
Personal Webpage

Dana Hunt

Duke University
Nicholas School of the Environment, Microbial Ecology
dana.hunt@duke.edu
Expertise: Microbial Ecology
Personal Webpage

Zackary Johnson

Duke University
Nicholas School of the Environment, Marine Science
zackary.johnson@duke.edu
Expertise: Algal Biofuels
Personal Webpage

Francois Lutzoni

Duke University
Biology
flutzoni@duke.edu
Expertise: Lichenology and Phylogenetics

Thomas Mitchell-Olds

Duke University
Biology
tmo1@duke.edu
Expertise: Genetic variations in plant populations with a focus on genes that influence traits controlling plant performance in an environmental context
Personal Webpage

John Rawls

John Rawls

Duke University
Microbial Genetics and Microbiology
john.rawls@duke.edu
Expertise: Microbial Ecology
Personal Webpage

Checo Rorie

North Carolina A&T
Biology Department
cjrorie@ncat.edu
Expertise: Cancer Biology and Molecular Biology
Personal Website

Patrick Seed

Duke University
Pediatrics, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Surgery
patrick.seed@duke.edu
Expertise: Immunology and Virology
Personal Webpage

Raphael Valdivia

Duke University
Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
valdi001@mc.duke.edu
Expertise: Bacterial Pathogenesis
Personal Webpage

Rytas Vilgalys

Duke University
Biology
fungi@duke.edu
Expertise: Mycology
Personal Webpage

Jennifer Wernegreen

Duke University
Biology, Nicholas School of the Environment, Environmental and Evolutionary Genetics
j.wernegreen@duke.edu
Expertise: Evolutionary Genomics
Personal Webpage

Gregory Wray

Duke University
Biology
gwray@duke.edu
Expertise: Evolutionary Biology
Personal Webpage

Anne Yoder

Duke University
Biology
anne.yoder@duke.edu
Expertise: Evolutionary Anthropology
Personal Webpage

Core Area 2: Engineering

Lawrence David

Duke University
Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
lawrence.david@duke.edu
Expertise: Microbial Ecology
Personal Webpage

Marc Deshusses

Duke University
Civil and Environmental Engineering
marc.deshusses@duke.edu
Expertise: Bioremediation, Biofiltration
Personal Webpage

Claudia Gunsch

Claudia Gunsch

Duke University
Civil and Environmental Engineering
ckgunsch@duke.edu
Expertise: Environmental Biotechnology
Personal Webpage

Omoanghe Isikhuemhen

North Carolina A&T
Natural Resources and Environmental Design
omon@ncat.edu
Expertise: Mycology and Bioremediation
Personal Webpage

Michael Lynch

Duke University
Biomedical Engineering
michael.lynch@duke.edu
Expertise: Metabolic Engineering
Personal Webpage

Abolghasem Shahbazi

North Carolina A&T
Biological Engineering
ash@ncat.edu
Expertise: Bioenergy
Personal Webpage

Lingchong You

Duke University
Biomedical Engineering
you@duke.edu
Expertise: Gene Circuits
Personal Webpage

Core Area 3: Bioinformatics & Biostatistics

Andrew Allen

Duke University
Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
asallen@duke.edu
Expertise: Biostatistics
Personal Webpage

Lawrence Carin

Duke University
Electrical and Computer Engineering
lcarin@ee.duke.edu
Expertise: Analysis of High Dimensional Data
Personal Webpage

Elizabeth Delong

Duke University
Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
elizabeth.delong@dm.duke.edu
Expertise: Biostatistics
Personal Webpage

Fred Dietrich

Duke University
Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
fred.dietrich@duke.edu
Expertise: Applied Genomics
Personal Webpage

Gerry Dozier

North Carolina A&T
Computer Science
gvdozier@ncat.edu
Expertise: Genetic and Evolutionary Computing
Personal Webpage

Joshua Granek

Duke University
Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
joshua.granek@duke.edu
Expertise: Bioinformatics
Personal Webpage

Alexander Hartemink

Duke University
Computer Science, Statistical Science and Biology
amink@cs.duke.edu
Expertise: Bioinformatics
Personal Webpage

Megan Neely

Duke University
Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
megan.neely@duke.edu
Expertise: Biostatistics
Personal Webpage